Features

Top 5 Books Read in 2016

This year is flying by, can you believe June is already upon us? I had set myself a goal to read 52 books this year…if I carry on my current pace I will surpass this as I am already on 35. Whilst considering this, I began to reflect back on my reading year so far and decided to list my Favourite 5 reads from this year.

Number 5: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

image

I was introduced to the ‘Throne of Glass’ series last year and completely fell in love with it. I read the first two books in quick succession but after being punched in the feelings by the ending of ‘Crown of Midnight’ I decided to hold off on reading ‘Heir of Fire’. In January of this year I finally read it. Although I had already been spoiled by the introduction of Rowan (because the internet happened) I went into this not sure what to think. However I really loved it. The exapansion of the world was phenomenal (Maas is so good at this) and I did enjoy the new dimensions Rowan brought to the story. I still need to pick up ‘Queen of Shadows’ (the next in the series). I need to get my act together and do this before the release of ‘Empire of Storms’ in September.

Number 4: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson 

image

 

After watching PeruseProject on YouTube and hearing lots of positive mentions of this series I decided to give it a go. However, the sheer volume of this text intimidated me to the extent that it stayed on my TBR pile for 8 months. I heard this book being described as a fantasy version of Ocean’s 11 and the premise of the book was “What if the bad guy had won?” Sounds amazing right? Well it was. I’ll admit, it’s an emotional rollercoaster, but Sanderson’s story telling hooked me in and kept me engrossed. The magic system in this book is very creative (by consuming different metals you are given different powers) and it added a completely new element (pun not intended…maybe) to the story.

Number 3: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

image

 

So my reading pile has been heavily influenced by Fantasy over the past year, you may notice that this also applies to this list. So reading a modern (is it comtemporary?) story was quite refreshing. I’ve never been a fan of chick lit, which, i’ll admit, was what I thought this was every time I saw it in Waterstones. However once I started to hear all the positive reviews I decided it was time to purchase. I was not disappointed. This follows the evolving relationship between a quadriplegic and his carer. It’s witty, heartfelt and beautifully tragic.

Number 2: Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

image

Another Fantasy series (sigh). I picked up Falling Kingdoms (the first book in this series in which Frozen Tides is the fourth) after seeing it briefly on Instagram. I was hooked very quickly and read all four books in quick succession – in fact I had a book hangover when I realised how long I would have to wait for the fifth book to be released. There is too much to explain about this series in such a short post. Something that appealed to me and was very successfully done by the author was the use of different character viewpoints. It allows you to see the scale of the story without being restricted to one person. The character development is crazily good – you may hate a character in the first book and absolutely love them in the fourth (yes this did happen to me).

Number 1: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

image

Well I’ve harped on about this book for quite a while. It consumed my every thought whilst reading it and soon after. For those who have read it and enjoyed it I don’t even need to justify or clarify my decision. This has to be my favourite book of the year so far – and I think it is unlikely to fall from the top spot (although Falling Kingdoms #5 is hovering on the horizon) For a full review click here

 

What are your favourite reads of the year so far?

What books should I add to my TBR?

 

Rachael

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Books Read in 2016

Leave a Reply

