Wrap Ups & Book Hauls

May Wrap Up and Haul

Wrap Up

During the month of May I read a total of 5 books.

  1. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  2. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  3. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas
  4. Saga Volume 1 by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples
  5. Dolly by Susan Hill

My month started off fairly slowly. I read City of Bones a couple of months ago, although I wasn’t completely in love with it, I did decide that I wanted to try to carry on with the series. It took me over two weeks to finish City of Ashes and I only found it Ok. I’m not sure I want to carry on with the series but people have told me it gets better – will have a think but will definitely leave it a while before considering City of Glass.

I really enjoyed The Raven Boys. Although I found it a slow start, once I got into it I found it hard to put down – looking forward to continuing with this series.

My favourite book this month was definitely A Court of Mist and Fury – for a full review click here

After taking a while to read the first three books this month, I decided to choose a quick read. I’m a newbie when it comes to Graphic Novels – I’ve always been intrigued but would never know which to choose. From watching YouTube recommendations I have so far read:

  • The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  • Saga Volume 1 by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples (although at the time of writing this I have also read Volumes 2 & 3 as well)

I loved Saga – it’s such an amazing story – really looking forward to carrying on.

For my final book of the month I wanted another quick read – for this I chose Dolly. I like gothic stories, which is what I was expecting from this. I was slightly disappointed – for a full review click here

Book Haul

In May I was introduced, by a friend, to such a cool book club. It allows you to pay £2 per year to go to a huge warehouse, completely filled with books and buy them for 70% of the retail price – amazing. I will be buying most of my books from here in the future. In May I bought the following:

  • The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz
  • If I Knew You Were Going to be this Beautiful I Never Would Have Let You Go by Judy Chicurel
  • The Ship by Antonia Honeywell
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson
  • Dark Hollow by John Connolly
  • Every Dead Thing by John Connolly (not pictured)
  • Pegasus Bridge by Stephen Ambrose (not pictured)

I am looking forward to more reading and reviewing.

Rachael

2 thoughts on “May Wrap Up and Haul

Leave a Reply

